Deep in Thought!

I woke up this morning singing “There is a fountain filled with blood, drawn from Immanuel’s veins, and sinners plunge beneath that flood, lose all their guilty stains.  The dying thief rejoiced to see that fountain in His day; and there have I, though vile as he, washed all my sins away”.

I found myself in deep thought about the word “vile”.  I wanted more information on this tiny word and what was its meaning.  Apparently when William Powper penned these lyrics in 1772, Mr. Powper must have felt the need for spiritual cleansing.  Further research led me to Zechariah 13:1, and it is written:  (1) In that day there shall be a fountain opened to the house of David and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem for sin and for uncleanness.

Now I could further understand this prophecy and to give some insight about what it means.  It means that Christ, by the power of his grace, takes away the dominion of sin, even of beloved sins. Those who are washed in the fountain opened, as they are justified, so they are sanctified.

This is just my deep thought.

Now getting back to the word “vile” which means: 

foul, nasty, unpleasant, bad, disagreeable, horrid, horrible, dreadful, abominable, atrocious, offensive, obnoxious, odious, unsavory, repulsive, disgusting, distasteful, loathsome, hateful, nauseating, sickening, disgraceful, appalling, shocking, sorry, shabby, shameful, dishonorable, execrable, heinous, abhorrent, deplorable, monstrous, wicked, evil, iniquitous, nefarious, depraved, debased; contemptible, despicable, reprehensible; gross, lowdown, and lousy.

I am no longer in deep thought about the word but proceed further into the song itself.  What powerful words written in the year 1772 that still resonates in 2015.  I am so thankful to have been awakened by this hymn.  When I look over my life with all its issues, I can truly appreciate just today.  Physically, it may not be a good day, but it is surely the Best day.

2 thoughts on “Deep in Thought!

Leave a Reply

