Oh Happy Day

John 19:34 – But one of the soldiers pierced His side with a spear, and immediately blood and water came out.

When I think about the crucifixion, I have to say Oh Happy Day.  With this provoking thought in mind, I was reading John this morning and verse 34 stood out.  I am washed by the blood of the lamb who was lead up to Golgotha, where they crucified Him.  I thought about how the blood washes, heals (I know I have been healed), delivers and sets the captives free.  I asked myself “what is coming out of you”.  Why I guess you’re wondering so let me put it to you this way.  He was pierced in his side. We have all been stabbed with one thing or another.  How do you handle it?  Are you a person to retaliate or a back biter?   Are you the author of confusion? OR, are you the one that can walk away and ask God to have mercy on the person who has just stabbed you in the back by words, many of which are not true?  Good question because when I thought of some of the things that I have been through, I have learned to just ask God to have mercy and leave it at that.  It is not for me to try to adjust anyone’s behavior, because I have to work on my behavior each and every day.  I have to keep my mind (seriously) stayed on Him.  I have to ask Him to hold my peace and to cleave my tongue to the roof of my mouth. 

2 Corinthians 5:17 says: Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

We have to remember we belong to Christ, we are His ambassadors, we are new in Him.  Those old habits are done away with and yes all things in our everyday life should be new.  I say that because a year ago when I was dealing with my issue, I had a lot of old things.  I was like a pack rat.  But when the Spirit of the Lord spoke to my spirit and told me “It is Handled,” I knew from that hour on, It was going to be alright.  Now here it is a year later and my hands are not what they use to be, my feet have changed, my mind has changed and my walk with Christ has changed.  This is the path He has ordered for me and I am loving every minute of it even with all of the challenges I face everyday.

I don’t know who is reading this but just remember it is an Oh Happy Day!

Leave a Reply

