Servanthood

Psalm 84:10 – For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand.  I’d rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.

To delight in the service of the Lord requires a submission of humility.  To feel his love, to rejoice in the person of the anointed Saviour, to survey the promises and feel the power of the Holy Ghost in applying precious truth to the soul, is a joy.  So much emphasis is placed on stature or positions.  Even what some my feel is a lowly estate, I would rather have Jesus in that lowly estate than to have 10,000 acquaintances who will love me when things are going well and desert me when my bottom falls out.

I will stand on my post knowing that I am surrounded by the Love that God has bestowed upon me.

This Korhites psalm. The descendants of Korah were porters and “keepers of the gates of the tabernacle, and keepers of the entry,” as well as being permitted to inspire the singers of Israel.  To be a doorkeeper it was a choice to sit at the threshold of the entry way.

Once I began to seek out the meaning behind the Psalm, I found it intriguing to come to an understanding of how it would sound through song.  The house is the Lord’s; the tents are of the wicked. The pleasures of sin are for a season only; the world passeth away, and the lusts thereof.

Looking to this day, there is so much going on and you have a choice to do whatever you so wish.  But after the introduction of this issue called “cancer,” I found out that I am a doorkeeper of my soul.” I chose to believe, I chose to talk to Him, I chose to try Him at his Word and I chose to listen for His voice.

Psalm 119:1 says: Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

Are you willing to surrender to God to become a Servant for Him?  This may require much thought before you can answer.

Leave a Reply

