This War Will Not Win!

Philippians 4: 10-13 –

(11)    Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:

(12)  I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

(13)  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

We all can say we need something but to be truly content in where you are takes time to learn.  Now I must say, for me on this day is very challenging.  On my way to work this morning, I stopped at Dunkin Donuts to get some toasted almond ice coffee.  I gave the clerk a five dollar bill and she in turn gave me my change and a receipt.  When she place the change in my right hand, it was a funny feeling because of the neuropathy. Mind you that my right hand is the hand that works.  But this morning was a different story.  So while holding the changes in my right hand (that has feeling), I had to use my left hand (which is constantly numb) to try and get the change given to me out of my right hand.  It just seemed as if I had so many challenges going on for just this morning.  This is the war that keeps trying to get me down, this is the war that tries to prevent me from being able to button a shirt or pull up a zipper.  This is the war that tries to prevent me from writing legibly with a pen or type on my computer or braid my hair and even sometimes, it is the war that tries to prevent me from using my keys to open the door.

There is a level of yearning for my hands to go back to the way they were before Chemo and I have learned that I must go through this war but it will not win.  Why?  It’s verse 13 that keeps my mind clear when it can become confused by the feelings of my hands.

Ephesians 6:10, gives me the strength I need by telling me to “Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.”

I may not have the strength in my hands today, but this battle is being defeated right this very moment.  Have have already won this fight for today.  One day at a time.  I cannot group days together because He has only given us this day.  I cannot worry about tomorrow, because He only gave me this one day.

With each challenge, I have learned to face it head on.  No need to hide under a cover or a rock.  If I have to deal with a challenge, it is fine because when God is in the building, things have a way of moving back of subsiding.  So on this day This War Will Not Win because God is in My Building.  Is He in Yours?

Leave a Reply

