The Hard Part

As a cancer survivor, some days I encounter “the hard part”.  Understanding that sometimes it is hard to fathom you have even gone through such an ordeal.  It wasn’t that long ago when I had to have a port-a-cath placed in my chest.  It wasn’t that long ago when during my first chemotherapy my vein where they placed the needle to administer the drug collapsed three times.  It wasn’t that long ago when I went from having hair down to the middle of my back to watching it come out in clumps in the shower. It wasn’t that long ago when I couldn’t lift my head off of the pillow because of the nausea. It wasn’t long ago when I would have to put sheets over the blinds because I couldn’t bear the light. It wasn’t that long ago when I had to have hydration the day after chemo and watched in horror as water ran down my legs, and it wasn’t that long ago when I had completed my chemotherapy for the last time that two days later the port-a-cath, which was suppose to stay in for six months decided, on its own, that it would push up and pierce my body to come out. It wasn’t that long ago when I had to have surgery to have the port-a-cath removed. It wasn’t that long ago when my brain felt like fog was preventing me from completing anything.

Now, that was the hard part.  Now is a time wherein I am still trying to find my way but for the most part, I won’t complain and you shouldn’t either.

For the word of God in the book of Isaiah 41:10 says :  “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”

God has done just that!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

